Government of South Australia, Department of Health
SA Central logo. Link to SA Central's web site.

Sunday, July 31, 2016

Country Health SA
banner border   banner border banner border
  About Health Advisory Councils  

The Health Care Act 2008 provides for the establishment of Local Health Advisory Councils (HACs).

HACs are incorporated or unincorporated advisory bodies, advising the Minister on health issues related to specific groups or regions.
(Further information about each of the HACs is available via the SA HACs Index)

In country areas, HACs will ensure that the strong link between communities and their health services is maintained, using the Country Health SA Local Health Network Health Advisory Council Inc. (Governing Council) as an ‘umbrella body’ to provide advice from a whole of country health perspective.

Incorporated HACs in country South Australia will hold assets, manage bequests and provide advice on local health service needs and priorities.

HAC Annual General Meetings (AGMs) are held annually between the months of October and November.

Further information is available on the Health Advisory Council Resources webpages.

  Presiding Member Panel  

The CHSALHN Health Advisory Councils Presiding Member Panel purpose is to provide a mechanism for effective liaison between local Health Advisory Councils and the CHSALHN Governing Council and to assist the Governing Council fulfil its role as an advocate on behalf of the community thereby supporting the planning and provision of health services as part of an integrated statewide health system for the benefit of country South Australia.

  Members List  


Eyre, Flinders and Far North: 2 x Presiding Member nominees
Hawker District Memorial Health Advisory Council - Mrs Kaye Fels
Port Augusta, Roxby Downs, Woomera Health Advisory Council - Ms Karyn Reid

Far North – West: 2 x Presiding Member nominees
Mid-West Health Advisory Council Inc. - Mr Kym Callaghan
Eastern Eyre Health Advisory Council Inc. - Ms Lorraine Walford

Yorke, Lower and Mid North: 3 x Presiding Member nominees
Port Pirie Health Service Advisory Council - Mr Barry Hay
Yorke Peninsula Health Advisory Council Inc. - Mr Rodney Thomas

Inner Country 2 x Presiding Member nominees
Gawler District Health Advisory Council Inc - Mrs Pru Blackwell
Hills Area Health Advisory Council - Ms Kathryn Hourigan

Riverland, Mallee Coorong: 2 x Presiding Member nominees
The Murray Bridge Soldiers' Memorial Hospital Health Advisory Council Inc. - Mr Greg O'Brien
Loxton and Districts Health Advisory Council Inc. - Ms Sally Goode

South East 2 x Presiding Member nominees
Penola and Districts Health Advisory Council Inc. - Mr Bruce Robertson
Naracoorte Area Health Advisory Council Inc. - Mr Barrie Moyle

Experts by Experience Register
Yorke & Northern member - Mr Rex Angie


 HAC Menu

 HAC Member Forms


Page URL:
Disclaimer | Privacy | Copyright ©Copyright 2014 by Country Health SA LHN

Home | About Us | Health News | Services | Health Advisory Councils | Scholarships | Students | Contacts/Feedback | About this site
South Australian Government logo. Link to Government Ministers' web site. Department of Health logo. Link to department web site.